The Primary Years Program (PYP) at MADAC is for children ages 3 – 12 and the student is at the center of the model. The IB Learner profile develops well-rounded and internationally minded students. The curriculum is transdisciplinary, meaning it goes beyond subject areas. The curriculum framework includes four elements: knowledge, concepts, skills and action. The PYP is arranged according to a written, taught and assessed curriculum. The PYP prepares students to become active, caring, lifelong learners who demonstrate respect for themselves and others and can participate in the world around them.  The PYP focuses on the development of the whole child as an inquirer, both within and beyond the classroom.

The Program of Inquiry (POI) shows the continuum of student learning across their years in the PYP.  It includes the Unit Names and descriptions, central ideas, lines of inquiry,  key and related concepts, skills, MADAC values and IB learner Profile attributes that students will learn in every unit.

To implement the IB Program at MADAC, students learn through inquiry. Trained IB teachers deliver the program, focusing on local issues first, and then moving further out to international and global issues. Students take with them not only content knowledge but conceptual knowledge and skills that carry with them throughout their lives. Teachers use various strategies in the classroom and outside to ensure learning and growth is witnessed in every child. Our students go on field trips, are visited by parents and community visitors and that help them make relevant connections to their learning in the classroom.

Inside the classroom, MADAC teachers encourage students to inquire by provoking their interest in new areas through videos, resources, pictures, walks through nature. They use various teaching strategies that range from discussions, brainstorming, mind-mapping, use of visible thinking strategies, activities and many other engagements that facilitate learning and growth. The PYP recognizes that every student is unique and teachers tailor learning engagements to the various styles, characters and the multiple intelligences of students. To do so, students will draw, listen, observe, watch, calculate, and learn in the various ways students learn.

Characteristics of the IB Program at MADAC

  • Student-centered learning
  • Inquiry
  • Concept-Based Learning
  • Translanguaging
  • Transdisciplinary Learning
  • ATLs – Approaches to learning through the 5 groups of skills.
  • Character building through the IB Learner Profile and the 7 MADAC Values.
  • Reflection on how, what and why we are learning
  • Assessment: Preassessment of prior knowledge, formative and summative

“MADAC” believes that the 21st century teaching and learning requires new and modern strategies and the focus of learning should be on understanding and building life skills. Education must reach all learners through differentiation and help learners develop a love for lifelong learning.


To achieve this goal, we broaden the function of education so that it is not limited to acquiring knowledge. It includes gaining knowledge, conceptual understandings, building skills and learning to take action. This document identifies four pillars for school education, adopted by “MADAC”, as shown in the following diagram:


MADAC began as an idea which developed and was followed by deep research. MADAC began with facts that assert: Teaching in itself, and for itself does not have profound effects on learners. The effect occurs through an intermediate between teaching and learning, which is the thinking processes, that happen within the learner.

The Program

In our educational vision and mission at MADAC, we seek to enable our students to acquire the skills that make them lifelong learners. We depend on a group of principles and values derived from the Holy Qur’an. These values have been educationally phrased under the title of the “MADAC Values”. “MADAC” focuses learning on educational outcomes and competencies included in IB Scope and Sequence Documents and the Saudi National Curriculum. A variety of educational resources are selected and a competent and qualified team of MADAC professionals enthusiastically and passionately delivers the learning experiences.

Competencies / Skills:

  • Student-centered learning
  • Inquiry
  • Competency Levels
  • Proficiency Level
  • Transdisciplinary Learning
  • ATLs – Approaches to learning through the 5 groups of skills.
  • Advanced Level
  • Basic level
  • Self-assessment and monitoring of progress
  • Knowledge skills related to information and multi-media.
  • Social responsibility principles
  • Principles of responsibility, flexibility, and adaptation
  • Communication skills
  • Thinking Skills
  • Self-Management Skills
  • Research Skills
  • Social Skills
  • Leadership skills – business pioneering – international citizenship – teamwork – emotional intelligence.
  • Skills of identifying, analyzing and solving problems.
  • Principles of creativity and intellectual aspiration
  • Skills of information access – skills of information credibility (digital literacy) – coping with rapid technological changes –
  • Adaptation with other cultures – principles of productivity and accountability – skills of effective leadership and taking responsibility.
  • Skills of self-learning and innovation. Skills of critical thinking and problem solving.
  • Reading and language learning skills – principles of environmental health.